What is beep™?

beep™ makes everyday transactions easier by offering Filipinos a more convenient and modern way of paying.

It is a stored value contactless card that can be used for fare payments in Metro Manila’s three elevated railways - LRT1, LRT2, and MRT3 - and can be used for fare payments in a growing number of Point-to-Point (P2P) buses and PUVs nationwide. Outside of public transportation, beep™ can also be used to pay for Cebu Ferries and is accepted in selected Ministop branches.

You can load at any of the 44 LRT and MRT stations, passenger terminals of transport partners, 217 Ministop branches. beep™ cards can also be loaded using self-service kiosks or via Over-The-Air (OTA) loading partners, such as BPI, Eon by Unionbank, Akulaku, and Justpayto, Paymaya, Andfinancing(Venio), PosibleNet, Sharetreats and SMS loading through G Gateway is also available.

About AF Payments Inc.

AF Payments Inc. is a partnership between two of the country’s biggest conglomerates, the Ayala Group and First Pacific Group, forming the AF Consortium to participate in the bid for the Automatic Fare Collection System (AFCS). Project under the Public-Private Partnership scheme of the Republic of the Philippines through the Department of Transportation (DOT formerly DOTC).

AF Consortium brings together companies that have strong track records and experience in banking and payments, utilities, retail, telecommunications, and toll road businesses, focused on developing commuting efficiency and improving customer experience. The AF Consortium is composed of the following member companies:

• BPI Card Finance Corporation, Globe Telecom, and AC Infrastructure Holdings for the Ayala group

• Metro Pacific Investments, Smart Communications, Inc., and Meralco Financial Services Corp. for the First Pacific group

On January 30, 2014, following a transparent, fair, and competitive bidding process, the DOTC awarded AF Consortium the rights to design and build the Automated Fare Collection System of LRT 1, LRT 2, and MRT 3.

In order to deliver the AFCS project and to build on the possibilities beyond the rail system provided by such a project, the consortium incorporated AF Payments Inc. (AFPI) on February 10, 2014. At its core, AFPI is a provider of a contactless electronic payment system that includes but may not be limited to a contactless smart card. The payment system can be used to make payments on public transport, specifically the rail system, and is planned to be available in a wide range of retailers and facilities. The name of the application is beep™.

AFPI is a member of the Philippine Society for Quality, Inc. (PSQ). PSQ is a non-stock, non-profit organization established in 1969 in cooperation with the Productivity Development Center and 64 Charter members representing companies and individuals. The Vision of the organization is to be the leading source of quality knowledge for a globally competitive nation.

Board of Directors

Jose MA. K. Lim

Chairman Jose Ma. K. Lim is President and CEO of Metro Pacific Investments Corporation (MPIC).

Mr. Lim holds a Bachelor of Arts Degree in Philosophy from Ateneo de Manila University and an M.B.A Degree from the Asian Institute of Management.

Jose Rene D. Almendras

Vice Chairman Jose Rene D. Almendras is currently the President & CEO of AC Infrastructure Holdings Corporation (AC Infra). He is a Managing Director and a member of the Ayala Corporation Management Committee.

Mr. Almendras served as Secretary of Foreign Affairs for the Republic of the Philippines (from March to June 2016) and as Cabinet Secretary under the Office of the President of the Aquino administration.

Ernest L. Cu

Director Ernest L. Cu is the President and CEO of Globe Telecom, Inc.

Mr. Cu obtained a Bachelor of Science Degree in Industrial Management Engineering from De La Salle University in Manila, and an M.B.A. from the J.L. Kellogg Graduate School of Management, Northwestern University.

Betty C. Siy-Yap

Director Ms. Betty C. Siy-Yap is Chief Financial Officer & Senior Vice President at Manila Electric Co., She also serves on the Board of Directors of several subsidiaries.

She received her undergraduate degree from the University of the Philippines, an MBA from Northwestern University, and an MBA from The Hong Kong University of Science & Technology.

Marie Josephine M. Ocampo

Director Marie Josephine M. Ocampo, “Jojo,” is the Senior Vice President and Payments and Remittance Group Head of the Bank of the Philippine Islands (BPI).

Jojo graduated Magna Cum Laude and received her Bachelor of Science in Business Management, Honors Program at the Ateneo de Manila University. She also completed the Advance Management Program at the Harvard Business in 2007.

Martha Sazon

President Martha Sazon is the President & CEO of Mynt, which operates GCash. Previous to the role, Martha was a Senior Vice President at Globe as Head of the Broadband Business.

Martha has attended and finished IMD and INSEAD executive programs and has a Bachelor of Science degree in Business Administration and Accountancy (Cum Laude), from the University of the Philippines, Diliman.

David J. Nicol

Director David J. Nicol is the Chief Financial Officer of Metro Pacific Investments Corporation.

Mr. Nicol began his career with PricewaterhouseCoopers where he served for 10 years in London, New York and Hongkong. He joined First Pacific Company Limited in 1991.

Simon R. Paterno

Director Mr. Paterno is the Head of the Financial Products Group and is a member of the Management Committee of BPI.

Mr. Paterno obtained his MBA from Stanford University in 1984. He was awarded his A.B., cum laude, Honors Program in Economics from Ateneo de Manila University in 1980.

Orlando B. Vea

Director Orlando B. Vea is the Chief Wireless Advisor of SMART.

Mr. Vea graduated from the University of the Philippines in 1970 with a degree in A.B. Economics.

Anabelle L. Chua

Director Ms. Chua is Chief Financial Officer of the PLDT Group. She is also a director of Smart and various subsidiaries of Smart and PLDT. Prior to joining PLDT in 1998, Ms. Chua was a Vice President at Citibank, N.A..

She graduated magna cum laude from the University of the Philippines with a Bachelor of Science Degree in Business Administration and Accountancy.